Kenya, India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway elected as UN security council members for 2021-2022

The chairperson of the African Union, President Cyril Ramaphosa of South Africa, on Friday congratulated Kenya, India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway on their election as non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for the term 2021 to 2022. The elections took place on June 17 and June 18, 2020 in the UN General Assembly in New York.
“As South Africa’s two-year term will come to an end on 31 December 2020, we will continue to work closely with the existing and newly elected members of the Security Council, in ensuring collective multilateral action to maintain international peace and security,” said President Ramaphosa.
The elected members will replace the outgoing members South Africa, Indonesia, Dominican Republic, Belgium and Germany on 1 January 2021.
Ramaphosa said South Africa wishes the elected members a successful tenure on the Security Council and assures them of its support in resolving regional and global conflicts, addressing the root causes of conflict and promoting inclusive political dialogue and peaceful settlement of disputes in accordance with the United Nations Charter and International Law.
He said South Africa remains deeply concerned about the emergence of unilateralism and its attendant threat to the International rules-based system. South Africa therefore reaffirms the centrality of the United Nations Charter and the primacy of the United Nations Security Council on issues of international peace and security.

Show More
error: Alert: Share This Content !!

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker