June 22, 2024

World Health Organization Announces Key Leadership Appointments to Drive Strategic Direction and Initiatives

WHO Director-General Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus during the 151st session of the Executive Board on 30 May 2022. This second shorter meeting of the year is a follow-up to the World Health Assembly. The Executive Board is composed of 34 technically qualified members elected for three-year terms. The main functions of the Board are to implement the decisions and policies of the Health Assembly, and advise and generally to facilitate its work.

The World Health Organization (WHO) has announced five new senior appointments to its headquarters leadership team in Geneva, following the reappointment of Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus to his second five-year term as Director-General. The appointments are part of a consolidated leadership team focused on driving the Organization’s priorities for the next five years and its ambitious transformation agenda.

The leadership team will work closely with the Director-General to accelerate progress on WHO’s 13th General Programme of Work (GPW13), the “triple billion” targets, and the health-related Sustainable Development Goals. The Organization’s work will center on five priorities: promoting health and preventing disease by addressing root causes, reorienting health systems towards primary health care, strengthening health emergency preparedness and response, harnessing science, innovation, data and technologies, and strengthening WHO as a leading authority on global health.

The headquarters leadership team includes equal numbers of women and men, who will collaborate with WHO regional and country offices. New appointees are Dr Jeremy Farrar as Chief Scientist, Dr Ailan Li as Assistant Director-General for Universal Health Coverage and Healthier Populations, Dr Yukiko Nakatani as Assistant Director-General for Access to Medicines and Health Products, Dr Razia Pendse as Chef de Cabinet, and Dr Jérôme Salomon as Assistant Director-General for Universal Health Coverage, Communicable and Non-communicable Diseases.

Dr Samira Asma, Dr Bruce Aylward, Dr Hanan Balkhy, Dr Catharina Boehme, Dr Chikwe Ihekweazu, Dr Michael Ryan, and Mr Raul Thomas will continue in their current roles as members of the headquarters leadership team.

The new leadership appointments are expected to further strengthen WHO’s capacity to address pressing global health challenges and achieve impact in countries worldwide.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments